putting yourself first isn’t selfish, it’s vital.

I haven’t gotten around to writing this year (which I guess isn’t too bad seeing as it’s only a week into 2016) but I thought I’d give it a shot today because I feel like I’ve learnt a lot in the past few days and I’ve put some new life tactics into play that I thought would be maybe somehow helpful to share…?

Firstly I think lets just discuss the post title, it’s a true point that I need to start doing – people think that if you put yourself then you’re being selfish, but you’re really not. How can you expect to help someone else if you can’t even help yourself? If someone was stood in front of a person in the street with a gun then would you put yourself in front of the bullet? (the answer ‘yes’ would literally apply to three people in my life). Being in the position I’ve put myself in by promoting and pushing a music career via social media means that I guess there is somewhat of a responsibility on me to help people who decide to come to me with their issues, but I can’t be fully relied on, I don’t know what to say really (I try my best) but honestly there has to be someone in your life that you can trust to help more than just some guy who sings a little from the internet? (before anyone tries to twist my words, I’m not saying I don’t want to help or that I have an issue with people coming to me with things, but I’m just saying I’m not the best person to come to for this in all honesty because I have no clue really what to say or how to help). A lot of people I’ve seen have intensified issues because they have their own problems but add to the weight they carry by allowing people to pile up their issues on them too… This is why I think I’ve made a decision to take a small step back from social media, I’m still going to be around but just not as much because it sometimes feels like I spend too much time glued to my phone that I don’t appreciate everything that goes on around me.

NEW YEAR RESOLUTIONS?

I guess what I just wrote about could be classed as my first new years resolution but I’ve been thinking about what I can commit too in order to improve myself this year… I think definite number one is put everything into music again, I really did learn so much with Fourth Divide and I know I wouldn’t be in the position I am right now without that chapter but I guess it was time to step away from my comfort blanket and I’m now going to do something that does really scare me and commit to my ‘solo music venture’.

Secondly I think I need to just realise that life could be worse in so many ways so I should appreciate what I have; I do have the greatest set of friends and an amazingly close family that  makes me immeasurably happy… sure I have things that ‘go wrong’ and that I wish I could change but hey nothing is perfect so I need to work with what I’ve got 🙂

Third and finally I think I’m going to go with just knuckle down with my studies and push through – I have lost a lot of passion for my a level subjects but I need to keep my eyes set on the final goal which is getting into the university course I want, of course if I can’t pull it all together then I’ll take an extra year of courses at college and just go next year, nothing wrong with that, everything happens for a reason.

 

so basically yeah that’s what I’ve got, thank you to anybody who even bothers to read these when I do them and to the people who’ve continued to support me even in the like five month dry and slightly confusing spell between Fourth Divide and now… just thank you and it really doesn’t go un noticed – Michael x

Leave a Reply

